## Van Pelt Chosen to PBC Men's Soccer All-Conference First Team

November 5, 2010 posted originally on USC Aiken's pacersports.com



AUGUSTA, Ga. – University of South Carolina Aiken men's soccer sophomore **Brett Van Pelt** was selected to the 2010 Peach Belt Conference Men's Soccer All-Conference first team on Friday.

The league office unveiled the all-conference team as part of a banquet at the inaugural PBC Fall Festival.

Though he lined up at defense and at forward in the 2010 season for the Pacers, Van Pelt was tabbed to the first team as a forward.

The local product out of South Aiken High School did a little bit of it all for the Pacers in the 2010 season. No matter the position, Van Pelt started all 15 Pacer games over the course of the past season.

Van Pelt finished the regular season with a teambest two goals.

As a freshman in 2009, Van Pelt ended his year with 11 total points on four goals and three assists. He started all 17 matches for the Pacers in 2009.

For the second time in the last four years, Clayton

State swept all three PBC men's soccer major awards as Ryan Pugh was named the Player of the Year, Arturo Cruz the Freshman of the Year and Pete Petersen the Coach of the Year. The Lakers also swept the three awards in the 2007 season.

In all, 24 players were named to the first and second teams, the number expanded by two due to ties. The 2010 All-Conference team is listed below as selected by the league's head coaches. Coaches were not permitted to rank their own teams.

## 2010 Peach Belt Conference Men's Soccer All-Conference Team

### First Team

<u>Forwards</u> Nathaniel Fo

Nathaniel Foster, Montevallo Ryan Pugh, Clayton State **Brett Van Pelt, USC Aiken** 

## **Midfielders**

Johan Bergfeld, Flagler Matty Phillips, Clayton State Milan Pualic, Montevallo Joseph Toby, Flagler

## **Defenders**

Ben Chedgy, North Georgia Igor Lukic, Clayton State Austin McIntosh, Montevallo

#### Goalkeepers

Matt Gilman, Flagler Rade Tanaskovic, North Georgia

#### Second Team

**Forwards** 

Alex Blandin, Francis Marion Aaron Brittain, Lander Gray Phelps, North Georgia

# **Midfielders**

Jamie Davison, Lander Craig Hughes, Lander Juan Hurtado, North Georgia

## <u>Defenders</u>

Will Frandsen, Flagler Sam Hooke, Georgia Southwestern Brett Neilson, Clayton State Gary O'Neill, Montevallo

## Goalkeepers

Brian Garcia, Clayton State Brendan Ledgeway, Montevallo

Player of the Year: Ryan Pugh, Clayton State Freshman of the Year: Arturo Cruz, Clayton

state

Coach of the Year: Pete Petersen, Clayton State